Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

Board members are chosen because of their expressed interest and recognized ability to further the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts' mission. Through instruction, acquisitions and exhibitions, PAFA transmits the nation's cultural heritage—as expressed in the visual arts—to succeeding generations, and gives context to that heritage.


Kevin F. Donohoe
President, The Kevin F. Donohoe Company Inc.
Thomas N. Pappas Vice Chair
Anne E. McCollum Vice Chair
Susan M. Hendrickson
Partner, Dechert LLP
Joseph D. Culley Jr.
Head of Capital Markets, Janney Montgomery Scott


James C. Biddle
Partner and CEO, Verdis Investment Management
Reginald M. Browne
Senior Managing Director, Cantor Fitzgerald
National Trustee
Walter W. Buckley, III
Co-Founder and CEO, Actua
Donald R. Caldwell
CEO, Cross Atlantic Capital Partners
Chair Emeritus
Emily Cavanagh
Charles E. Chase
President and CEO, FirstService Brands
Jonathan L. Cohen National Trustee
Gerard P. Cuddy
President and CEO and Chairman of the Board, Beneficial Bank
Marianne Dean
Mark A. Douglas
President, Chief Operating Officer, FMC Corporation
Robert I. Friedman, Esq.
Shareholder, Cozen O’Connor
Pia Halloran
Designer, Barbara Gisel
William P. Hankowsky
Chairman, President & CEO, Liberty Property Trust
Charles H. Harper
Founder and Managing Director, Harper Insights, Inc.
National Trustee
Jonathan Hirsch
Co-Founder and Director, IG Wines
Martha Kennedy
Ro King
Editor, Publisher, Publicist, SOKOLA
National Trustee
Robert E. Kohler, Ph.D
Professor Emeritus, History and Sociology Science,
University of Pennsylvania
Joel Koppelman National Trustee
Andrew Kress
CEO, Health Verity
Jannie K. Lau
Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, InterDigital Inc.
Marguerite Lenfest
Valentine James Link, Jr.
Managing Director and Chief Marketing Officer, PFM Asset Management, LLC
Winston I. Lowe
Managing Partner, Lowe & Associates LLC
Kenneth Mitchell
Principal, Kenneth Mitchell Architect, LLC
J. Brien Murphy, M.D.
Clinical Professor, Division of Plastic Surgery,
University of Pennsylvania
Eric W. Noll
Sandra Norcross
David S. Oliver
President, Oliver Fire Protection & Security
James E. O'Neill, Esq.
Pachulski Stang Ziel & Jones LLP
Theodore O. Rogers Jr., Esq.
Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
National Trustee
Anthony Roth
Chief Investment Officer, Wilmington Trust Investment Advisors
Jay H. Shah
Chief Executive Officer, Hersha Hospitality Trust
Arlen Shenkman
Chief Financial Officer, SAP North America
June Marshall Smith
Richard W. Snowden
President, Bowman Properties
John Toates
Owner & Principal, John Toates Architecture and Design
Richard W. Vague
Kenneth R. Woodcock National Trustee

Ex Officio

David R. Brigham President and CEO
Njideka Akunyili Crosby
Gregory J. Fox
Chairman of the Board, Pennsylvania Convention
Center Authority
Coy Gu President, Alumni Association
Kelly R. Lee
Chief Cultural Officer, Director of Office of Arts,
Culture and the Creative Economy
Lynne Lehocky President of the Women's Board


Roger H. Ballou
John B. Bartlett
Thomas L. Bennett, CFA
President, TB Partners
Robert L. Byers Sr.
Chairman, Byer's Choice
Edward T. Harvey
Senior Advisor, Dominus Capital LP
Charles E. Mather III
President, Mather Brothers Company
Herbert S. Riband Jr., Esq.
Saul Ewing LLP
Samuel J. Savitz
Chairman Emeritus, The Savitz Organization
William H. Schorling, Esq.
Vice President, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney, P.C.
William A. Slaughter, Esq.
Partner, Ballard Spahr LLP
Henry B. du P. Smith
The Haverford Trust Company
Richard E. Woosnam
President, Innovest Group Inc.
Debora C. Zug


Frances M. Maguire