Press Release

PAFA Welcomes Susan Kline Klehr to Its Board of Trustees

PHILADELPHIA (September 14, 2019) -- The Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts (PAFA) is pleased to announce the election of Susan Kline Klehr to its Board of Trustees.

Susan, of Philadelphia, also serves as Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees of Franklin & Marshall College, and in 2017 received the college's Alumni Award. She is a past President and current member of the Board of Advisors for Congregation Rodeph Shalom in Philadelphia and is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Einstein Healthcare Network. Susan and her husband, Leonard Klehr, are avid collectors of art by PAFA-trained artists and faculty and have been supporters of the Annual Student Exhibition Preview Party since 2015.

"I have always felt an affinity with PAFA," said Susan Klehr. "Most of the art that my husband and I have collected over the years has been created by artists who have either studied or taught at PAFA. I have always loved the historic building itself, the educational programs PAFA provides, and the fact that the institution gives so much to the community. I am honored to serve on PAFA's board, and look forward to learning more about it and playing a role in its future."

David Brigham, President and CEO of PAFA, said, "We are delighted to welcome Susan to our Board of Trustees. Susan is an extraordinary supporter of education and the arts, and her commitment to the ideals that have shaped PAFA as an institution will make her a valuable member of our community as we work to further PAFA's mission in the years to come."

Last Updated
October 30, 2019 - 1:40 PM

About PAFA

Founded in 1805, the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts is America's first school and museum of fine arts. A recipient of the National Medal of Arts, PAFA offers undergraduate and graduate programs in the fine arts, innovative exhibitions of historic and contemporary American art, and a world-class collection of American art. PAFA’s esteemed alumni include Mary Cassatt, Njideka Akunyili Crosby, William Glackens, Barkley L. Hendricks, Violet Oakley, Louis Kahn, David Lynch, and Henry Ossawa Tanner.