The Jefferson Award

The Jefferson Award honors our historical connection with Thomas Jefferson and his renowned love of fine wine by celebrating outstanding members of the wine industry. This year’s recipients are Mike Grgich, founder and winemaker of Grgich Hills Estate, Warren Winiarski, founder of Stag’s Leap Wine Cellars and George Taber, the author of the Judgment of Paris.   

The Jefferson Award - Past Recipients*

2001  -  John Mariani - Castello Banfi, Italy
2002  -  Brian Croser - Petaluma Wines, Australia
2003  -  Agustin Huneeus Jr., - Franciscan Estates, California
2004  -  David Ramey - Ramey Wine Cellars, California
2005  -  Joan and Walt Flowers - Flowers Vineyards and Winery, California
2006  -  Ferdinando Frescobaldi - Marchesi de' Frescobaldi, Italy
2007  -  Jean-Michel Cazes - Chateau Lynch-Bages   
2008  -  10th Anniversary of Bacchanal
            10 honorees for the year of Women and the Art of Fine Wine
            Cecile Bonnefond - Veuve Clicquot Ponsardin
            Lynn Crawford - Four Seasons
            Lisa Granik, DWS, MW - Charmer Sunbelt
            Robin Lail - Lail Vineyards
            Maureen Lolonis - Lolonis Vineyards
            Cristina Mariani-May - Banfi Vintners
            Margrit Mondavi - Robert Mondavi Winery
            Martine Saunier – Martine’s Wines, Inc.
            Joy Sterling – Iron Horse Vineyards
            Delia Viader – Viader Wines
2009  -  Aurelio Montes - Vina Montes, Chile
             Don Alfonso Larrain Santa Maria – Vina Concha y Toro
2010  -  Bindi and Michael Dhillon; Domaine Serene and Ken and Grace Evenstad;
             EnRoute and Larry Maguire; and Maison Louis Jadot and Jacques Lardière
             Chef Daniel Le Guenan, Executive Chef at the CuisinArt Resort & Spa
             in Rendezvous Bay, Anguilla
2011 - The Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board
Chef David Jansen, Four Seasons, Philadelphia
2012 - Tim Mondavi  Family– Continuum Estate, Napa Valley, California, USA
            Pio Boffa – Pio Cesare Winery, Piedmont, Italy  
            Jean Trimbach – Maison Trimbach, Alsace, France
            Bodega Valentin Bianchi, Mendoza, Argentina 
            Chef Patrick Feury, Executive Chef, Nectar, Berwyn, PA and
            Chef Terence Feury, Executive Chef, Tavro 13, Swedesboro, NJ    
* The award began in 2001.